New Dawn Nigeria

AFCON: Sanwo-Olu did not withdraw $470m for delegation

0 57


The Lagos Sate governor, Mr. Sanwo-Olu, through his Deputy Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Gboyega Akosile, has denied withdrawing the sum of $470 million to fund the trip of federal government delegation to Egypt for the ongoing African Cup of  Nations competition as alleged by the state’s chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

  In a statement issued on Sunday, Mr. Akosile, said “Our attention has been drawn to a press statement by Lagos State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) claiming that the State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu withdrew the sum of $470m to take himself and some persons including APC Chieftains to watch the Nigeria-Cameroon match at the ongoing African Cup of Nations (AFCON).”

The statement went further to say, “There is nothing farther to the truth than this statement, which follows the same pattern of falsehoods usually dished out to the public by the PDP and its mouthpiece.

“For the avoidance of doubt, His Excellency, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu did not make any withdrawal for the purpose of attending the AFCON in Egypt.

“It is a public knowledge that Mr. Sanwo-Olu was named among some other dignitaries to attend the ongoing African football fiesta in Egypt.

“Members of the Federal Government delegation to AFCON 2019 are Dr. Ahmed Lawan, as leader of the delegation, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha.

“Governors nominated and approved by President Muhammadu Buhari are His Excellencies, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu and Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State.

“Also on the list are Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC), Mr. Habu Gumel and a Representative of the Presidency; Captain Hosa Okunbo.

“The Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports, Olusade Adesola and Muhammad Gambo, the ministry’s Director of Facilities, are also members of the delegation, which include a former Minister of Youth and Sports, Solomon Dalung, to complete the list,” the statement read.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.