China’s Guangdong offers 144-hour visa-free transit


Guangdong Province in southern China has announced 144-hour visa-free period for nationals from 53 countries transiting through the area, beginning from Wednesday.

The new move, approved by China’s State Council, is an extension of the 72-hour visa-free transit policy currently adopted in the province.

The foreigners can enter Guangdong via its three airports – Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport – and exit via the province’s 32 ports.

The policy applies to passengers from 53 countries, including Britain, United States, Australia, Japan, Denmark, France, Germany and Russia.

They are required to carry effective international travel documents and have onward travel tickets with confirmed dates and seats within 144 hours.

Lin Weixiong, Vice Director of Guangdong Provincial Public Security Department, said that the policy was expected to attract more overseas tourists and boost tourism and civil aviation in Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area.

Since 2013, the State Council approved 72-hour visa-free transit in 18 cities for eligible international travellers and later extended the period to 144 hours in a number of cities, including Beijing, Shanghai, Nanjing, Shijiazhuang and Shenyang.


Kindly support the growth of journalism in Nigeria

Reactions to stories published can be sent to us at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *