Senate rejects electronic transfer of election



The Senate Thursday rejected Clause 52(3) of the Electoral Act Amendment Bill which provided for electronic transfer of election results.

The clause which led to the division of the chamber saw 52 Senators voting against the clause, 28 other Senators were in support of the clause while 28 Senators were not available to vote.

The President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan, abstained from voting.

Details later…

Kindly support the growth of journalism in Nigeria

Reactions to stories published can be sent to us at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *