APC’s reconciliation: Oyegun to head South/South C’mmittee



The South-South leaders of the All Progressives Congress(APC ),have selected the Party’s former National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun to head a six-member committee saddled with the responsibility of handling reconciliation and issues from the various states within the region.

Oyegun was selected at a meeting held at Ladi Kwali Hall, Sheraton Hotel, Abuja on Tuesday night.

Lucky Imasuen is to serve as the Secretary of the Committee.

Other members are: Chief Sunny Jackson; Dr. Mrs. Maryam Ali; Dr. Sam Jaja; Sen. Cleaver Ikisikpo and Chief Dr. Emmanuel Nsan.

The development was announced in a communiqué co-signed by the Secretary of the Party’s Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, CECPC, Sen. John Akpanudoedehe and Imasuen.

The leaders condemned the divisions amongst the leaders and urged on the need to foster unity in the zone.

They also called on other regions’ leaders to use the membership Registration, Update, and Revalidation exercise as a tool for ramping up the Party’s support base and unification of the party in the South-South region.

The meeting reiterated the resolution of the National Executive Committee, NEC, of the party on the withdrawal of all pending litigations between party members.

The leaders received two members of the Federal House of Representatives from Rivers State who defected to the party, Hon. Chisom Dike of Eleme, Tai Oyigbo Federal Constituency and Hon. Ephraim Nwuzi reoresenting Etche/Omuma.

Kindly support the growth of journalism in Nigeria

Reactions to stories published can be sent to us at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *